Lauren Vandervelden, First Place winner
2017 Young Composer Competition

Lauren Vandervelden’s Kaleidoscopic Suite for piano quartet has won First Place in Division 2 of the 2017 Young Composer Competition.

Lauren Vandervelden, a 17-year-old from Boise, Idaho, studies composition with Philip Wharton of New York City.  A composer and violinist, Lauren has won numerous national awards for composition including honorable mentions for ASCAP and BMI (2015), first-place winner for NFMC (2016), second-place winner for MTNA (2016), and second-place winner for the Frost School of Music International Composition Competition (2016).  Recent performances of her music include the NAfMe National Conference in Dallas (2016), the Music Haul Summer Gala in Newfane, VT, and the Big Barn, Putney, VT (2016) for the Yellow Barn Young Artists Program.

Lauren has participated in several summer composition programs, studying with Stephen Coxe, Eric Nathan, and Christopher Theofanidis at Yellow Barn and David Ludwig, Shinuh Lee, and Steven Mackey at the Curtis Institute of music.

Lauren commutes to San Francisco on a regular basis for violin lessons with Sarn Oliver of the San Francisco Symphony. She has won several violin competitions and concerto competitions, performing solos with the Meridian Symphony Orchestra and Boise Philharmonic Youth Orchestra.  She has been concertmaster of the Boise Philharmonic Youth Orchestra for the past three years.

A junior in high school, Laura and hopes to study both violin performance and composition upon graduation. We're not practicing or composing, she enjoys studying physics and astronomy.

As the winner of the Tribeca New Music 2017 Young Composer Competition, Division 2, Lauren will receive a $1,000 award, and her piece, Kaleidoscopic Suite, will be performed on an upcoming Tribeca New Music 2017 Festival concert in NYC.

Honorable Mentions and Emerging Composers
Congratulations to everyone who participated in this national competition.  In addition to the First Place piece, Tribeca New Music wishes to acknowledge some of the other exceptional works that were entered:

• The Honorable Mention category recognizes the top tier of compositions that were in contention to win.

• The Emerging Composers category recognizes those who have shown great promise with their entries.

Honorable Mentions

Elise Arancio for her Kuma Lisa
Shelby Blalock for her Agitato
Paul Novak for his Reliquary
Kai Ono for his Doing the Right Thing
J.P. Redmond
for his Three Literary Snapshots
Molly Turner
for her Animation

Emerging Composers

Kyle Franklin for his V Tableaux for Piano
Anika Fuloria for her Nature’s Dance
Hannah Ishizaki
for her The Hypothetical Machine
Joseph Jordan
for his towards the waves
Louis Josephson
for his A Tiny Little Door
Samuel Lam
for his Sonatine
Thomas Mellan for his Songe de I’infini
Lila Quillin
for her City Suite
Avik Sarkar
for his Ragini
Mack Scocca-Ho
for his Allegretto Chronicles
William Shabecoff
for his Wind Quartet
Charles Stacy
for his Another Dream Machine
Kevin Su
for his Infernal Drums
Kathy Xue
for her Suite for Piano
Justin Yamaguchi
for his String Quartet in G Major
Philina Zhang
for her Twilight Concertino for Violin & Piano