Charles Halka, First Place winner
Division 1 (Ages 22-35)
2017 Young Composer Competition

Charles Halka’s Por la Fuerza las Tierras for quintet has won First Place in Division 1 of the 2017 Young Composer Competition.

Charles Halka’s works have been performed in North America, Europe, and Hong Kong by the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra led by Marin Alsop, the Mexican National Symphony Orchestra, the Lviv Philharmonic, Mivos Quartet, Fort Worth Opera Studio, counter)induction, Volti, Callithumpian Consort, ÓNIX Ensamble (Mexico), PRO ARTE eNsemble (Russia), Aquarius (Belgium), and Jauna Muzika (Lithuania), among others. Performances have taken place at venues and events such as the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, The Kennedy Center, ISCM World Music Days, Foro Internacional de Música Nueva, the Coolidge Auditorium of the Library of Congress, and the Intimacy of Creativity partnership led by composer Bright Sheng.

Halka is a recipient of the Copland House Residency Award, and in recent years was in residence with Houston’s critically acclaimed Musiqa (2014-2015) and the Foundation for Modern Music (2011-2014). Other residencies include those at the MacDowell Colony and the Sarbievijaus Cultural Center in Kražiai, Lithuania, where he wrote And Jill Came Tumbling After, a chamber opera (libretto by John Grimmett) for the Baltic Chamber Opera Theater that was selected for Fort Worth Opera’s 2015 Frontiers showcase. Imaginary Spaces, a dance and percussion project in collaboration with Frame Dance Productions, was awarded support from the Aaron Copland Fund for Music. Charles earned undergraduate and master’s degrees from The Peabody Conservatory and a doctorate from Rice University. He is Visiting Lecturer at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, where he teaches composition, orchestration, and musicianship and codirects Nextet, UNLV’s contemporary music ensemble.

As the winner of the Tribeca New Music 2017 Young Composer Competition, Division 1, Charles will receive a $1,000 award, and his piece, Por la Fuerza las Tierras, will be performed on an upcoming Tribeca New Music 2017 Festival concert in NYC.

2017 Runners Up and Merit Awards
Congratulations to everyone who participated in this national competition.  In addition to the First Place piece, Tribeca New Music wishes to acknowledge some of the other exceptional works that were entered:

• The Runners Up category recognizes the top tier of compositions that were in contention to win.

• The Merit Award category recognizes those who have shown great promise with their entries.

Runners Up

Nathaniel Haering for his Cimmerian Isolation
Thomas Kotcheff for his scratch cradle

Merit Awards

David Biedenbender for his Red Vesper
Stylianos Dimou
for his impetuous flow: in flux
Noam Faingold
for his The Abyss Looks Back
William Harvey
for his Borrowdale
John Hennecken
for his In Fields Forgotten by the Sun
Douglas Hertz
for his From Lidless Eyes (Time Knows No Bounds)
Jack Hughes
for his Nox
David Morales Boroff
for his Sunlight Fantasia
Charles Peck
for his Fade
Logan Rutledge
for his Out of My League
Anna Sowa
for her Wariacje na temat melodii ludowej Mazurek od Tymbarku